Can a Canoptek Spyder roll RP when creating scarabs?

Can a Canoptek Spyder roll RP when creating scarabs?

Short answer: Yes. When a Spyder that is part of a Canoptek Harvest chooses Reanimation Protocols as the special rule to use with its Adaptive Subroutines rule, it gains the Reanimation Protocols More »

Relics of the War in Heaven and Artefacts of the Aeons

Relics of the War in Heaven and Artefacts of the Aeons

Short Answer: Yes (but confirm with your Tournament Organizer) There’s a bit of a common misconception regarding this particular situation. While it is true that you can only ever get one single More »

Do Canoptek Wraiths and C’tan Shards suffer the Initiative penalty when charging through terrain?

Do Canoptek Wraiths and C’tan Shards suffer the Initiative penalty when charging through terrain?

Short answer: No But hey, this discussion has sparked quite a bit of conflict on the Internet, so, far be it from me to shy away from this heaping pile of rules More »

How does Gaze of Death REALLY work?

How does Gaze of Death REALLY work?

Short answers: 1. Does it count as a ranged weapon, or as a shooting attack? No 2. Can it be used on a unit that is currently locked in close combat? Yes More »

Can I shoot multiple Powers of the C’Tan per shooting phase?

Can I shoot multiple Powers of the C’Tan per shooting phase?

Short answer: No. The Powers of the C’Tan are an atypical piece of wargear. Despite the “plural” form of their name, the weapon itself, is unfortunately only one. The misconception: “A C’tan shard More »

 

Zandrekh and Maelstrom Objectives

Zandrekh featured

Hey guys,

This article is meant to provide a quick and simple tip to how I like to achieve a crapton of Maelstrom points by using Zandrekh in a relatively smart way.

Normally, in Dawn of War deployments, most people will place their Maelstrom objectives within the deployment. Therefore, most of the time, there’ll be 3 objectives in one half of the table, 3 in the other.

Turn 1 Scarab charge or how to create the dreaded Scarab Conga Line

conga

Hey guys,

Time for a quick tutorial on how to perform the turn 1 Scarab Charge. While pretty straightforward, a lot of new players don’t quite understand how the subtleties of the conga line work, and how to use it best. Therefore, I’ve written this short article to detail the method of performing it.

This example contained in this article applies to the Dawn of War deployment, however, it can be done in any deployment. I’ve only mentioned this one, as it is the most commonly used, and also, the easiest to photograph.

Deploying Harvests vs. Grav gun drop pods – part 3: Vanguard Strike

harvest3

Hey guys, time to draw this mini-series to a close, with the final installment of my “Deploying Harvests vs. Grav gun drop pods” articles. This post will deal with how to place your harvests in the Vanguard Strike deployment.

As with my other articles in this series, I start with the presumption that you’ve drawn the short straw, and as such, have a table half that is severely lacking in the terrain department. If you do have some nice LoS blocking terrain, or a ruin, be sure to take advantage of it, and add your own twist to the deployment. Again, I’m not claiming that this is the very best deployment, simply that it’s the one I’ve found to work best in this type of scenario.

Deploying Harvests vs. Grav gun drop pods – part 2: Hammer and Anvil

harvest2

Hey guys, so this is part 2 of the “Deploying Harvests vs. Grav gun drop pods” trilogy. Eat your heart out, Peter Jackson !

Joking aside though, the point of breaking this article up into 3 pieces, was in order to facilitate quick reading for people that are checking these just before a match, to get ideas on how to deploy.

This article will deal with deploying vs. a grav-gun heavy drop pods list, and how to do it in a Hammer and Anvil deployment. Like the previous part of the series, this article assumes that you’ve drawn the short straw, and as such, have been forced to deploy on a side of the table that has very little to no terrain that can help you out. Therefore, you have to make do with your own models. If you do have LoS blocking terrain, simply put your back to it with your Spyders, and follow the instructions in the Dawn of War article.

Deploying Harvests vs. Grav gun drop pods – part 1: Dawn of War

harvest1

Hey guys, no Short Answer here, just a relatively useful post, describing how I normally deploy versus lists that are heavy on the grav guns and flamers, and that like to deploy via Drop pods. This is by no means the most extensive list of deployment possibilities, and it’s just the way I’ve found to be most useful in the matches I’ve played vs. this kind of list.

This article will actually be broken up into 3 smaller ones, simply through the reasoning that otherwise, the article would be far too long and difficult to read at once, and in order to facilitate quick reads for people that are about to begin a match.

All of the articles assume that you’ve drawn the short straw, and have been forced to deploy in a table half that is very low on terrain, ruins, or LoS block that would normally help you.

Can a Canoptek Spyder roll RP when creating scarabs?

spyders

Short answer: Yes.

When a Spyder that is part of a Canoptek Harvest chooses Reanimation Protocols as the special rule to use with its Adaptive Subroutines rule, it gains the Reanimation Protocols rule.

Looking at the Scarab Hive rule that all Canoptek Spyders share, we see the following:

Conclave of the Burning One Loadout

conclave

Short Answer:

Loadout 1:

Cryptek 1: The God Shackle, Solar Staff
Cryptek 2: Veil of Darkness
C’tan Shard of the Nightbringer
Total pts: 420

Loadout 2:

Cryptek 1: The God Shackle
Cryptek 2: Veil of Darkness
C’tan Shard of the Nightbringer
Total pts: 405

Relics of the War in Heaven and Artefacts of the Aeons

relics

Short Answer: Yes (but confirm with your Tournament Organizer)

There’s a bit of a common misconception regarding this particular situation. While it is true that you can only ever get one single Artefacts of the Aeons piece of wargear on a model, and you can only get one single Relics of the War in Heaven piece of wargear on a model, there is no rule stating that the same model cannot have both (ONLY IF IT IS A MODEL FROM A MEPHRIT DYNASTY DETACHMENT OR FORMATION)

Do Canoptek Wraiths and C’tan Shards suffer the Initiative penalty when charging through terrain?

wraith

Short answer: No

But hey, this discussion has sparked quite a bit of conflict on the Internet, so, far be it from me to shy away from this heaping pile of rules ignorance. The big difference with this specific topic, as opposed to others that I’ve tackled, is that other subjects (skimmers deep strike mishaps, gaze of death working in combat, etc.) are understandably a bit difficult to grasp at first glance, and so, it’s completely fine to have to clarify things.

How does Gaze of Death REALLY work?

nightbringer 1

Short answers:

1. Does it count as a ranged weapon, or as a shooting attack? No

2. Can it be used on a unit that is currently locked in close combat? Yes

3.  Can it be used while the C’tan is locked in close combat? Yes

4. Can it be used on a different unit than the Powers of the C’Tan during that turn? Yes

5. Do you need to charge the unit you used it on? Not exactly, but you CAN

6. Does it work on Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures? Yes

7. Does it work on units that are under the Invisibility Psychic Power? Yes

8. Do you need to also fire Powers of the C’Tan to be able to use it? No

9. If you cause multiple wounds with Gaze of Death, does the Shard regain as many wounds as you inflicted? No, only one.

10. Can you Run before/after using Gaze of Death? Yes.